Fermat's Last Recipe

theorems and corollaries contrived in the kitchen

Dosa

Dosa

Ready for this shocker?

I decided to write this blog post instead of doing my real analysis homework. I’m tired of wringing my brains out like a wet washcloth over this proof that the set difference of two closed sets is an set.

Theorem. Sometimes not finishing homework/work is more productive than finishing it.

love absorbing mathematics and I will puzzle out this proof (though perhaps not before it needs to be turned in), but right now my brain/being is getting a lot more from listening to Crooked Still croon at me and thinking about how to make my thoughts semi-elegant on the screen. And hey— five things I am grateful for today?

  1. No-socks-no-shoes days.
  2. Walla Walla, WA.
  3. Shamelessly flamboyant rock sculptures.
  4. The random guy who rides a unicycle to class every day.
  5. DOSA!

I am crazy about this new discovery of dosa. Ever since a friend of mine introduced me to the idea of fermenting at home to make things that actually taste good (goodbye, dill pickles) such as gingered carrots and mead, I have researched the possibilities and been blown away! A favorite resource of mine quickly became the blog Fermentation Recipes. Dosa, like many fermented foods, is incredibly easy to make. Soak, blend, sit, cook, eat. Dosa is a savory crepe/pancake of south Indian origin made with a bean and rice batter that is fermented. I find the fermented flavor extremely subtle and the cooked texture wonderful. My original testing of this recipe put a breakfast hat on the dosa; baked apple slices with cinnamon and maple syrup was great on the pancakes. I am even more a fan of the lunch variation though.  You can play around with vegetable toppings. I think sautéed purple cabbage, garlic, and zucchini would be phenomenal. I had some carrot, onion, and broccoli stem lying around, so I cooked those up and topped the dosa with Angela’s creamy lemon dill dressing and cilantro. The possibilities are endless. My next dosa project will be to try a batter made from rice, mung beans, and flax seeds.

DSCN1506 DSCN1516

Dosa

Dosa is a south Indian savory crepe/pancake that is made from a fermented batter. Easy to make and very versatile, it provides endless breakfast, lunch, and dinner possibilities.

Recipe from Fermentation Recipes.

Ingredients

1 c uncooked brown rice
1 c uncooked red lentils
1 tbsp fenugreek*
½ tsp sea salt

*Note: If you can’t find fenugreek, 1 tbsp of fennel seeds or mustard seeds is an acceptable substitute.

 

Directions

Place all ingredients in a medium bowl and soak overnight in water. Transfer to a blender and cover with enough water to reach one inch above the rice and lentils. Blend until smooth. Pour back into the bowl and let sit uncovered for 1-2 days. You will see the batter puffing up as the fermentation progresses.

Day 0

Day 0

Day 2

Day 2

To cook, heat about a teaspoon of coconut or vegetable oil in a skillet over medium to medium-high heat. Spoon enough batter to make a pancake of desired size and thickness. When the bottom is golden brown, flip the dosa. Cook for about another 3 minutes then remove from the pan.

Serving suggestions:

  • Top with sautéed vegetables, perhaps with a creamy sauce. A toss of purple cabbage, garlic, and zucchini would be excellent.
  • Spread with almond butter for a snack.
  • Top with fresh berries and a drizzle of maple syrup for breakfast.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2014 by in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Behind the Blog

Allow me to introduce myself! I'm Sophie De Arment. Fermat's Last Recipe is where I share my vegetarian kitchen adventures. You might also glimpse some knitting, kayaking, juggling, and math-ing along the way.
Follow Fermat's Last Recipe on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

