Fermat's Last Recipe

theorems and corollaries contrived in the kitchen

Chai Spice Cashew Ice Cream

Chai Spice Cashew Ice Cream

One of the hurdles of eating disorder recovery is pinning irrational beliefs and challenging them with rational alternatives. A lot of the time this is especially difficult for me since the cleverest tactic of my Ed was to mask itself as my rationality— one of my most closely valued traits of my authentic self.

Proposition.   I can’t trust my body to give itself the good care it needs.

The above proposition is common yet subtle to a lot of orthorexic thinking. That is:

Proposed Proof.   There exist many “bad” (that is, unhealthy) foods available to eat. If I eat them, then I cannot be healthy and strong. That is, my body cannot use for good many of the sources of what my peers call food. Thus I must rigidly control what I eat, avoiding these foods and necessarily restricting my diet.

Logical? Yes. Truth value? False. This attempt at a proof fails to take into account one of my core beliefs. This is that the body is powerful because it is a vessel for my mind and soul. It must in this role have the power to adapt and to care for both itself and my inner self. In comes the self love! I propose a new theorem!

Theorem.   I can trust my body to give itself the good care it needs. If I act with food according to its honest cues and cravings, I can be healthy.

Cashews!

That said, I crave sweet today. A sweet that is creamy and satiating yet won’t make my stomach complain. Cashew ice cream! I do not own a good ice cream maker, so with this recipe I am offering a few options as far as the freezing step goes. Personally I have a blast spending 10-20 minutes shaking up an icy bag, but that level of involvement can’t be appealing every time the ice cream craving rears up.

Chai Spice Cashew Ice Cream

Active time:   10-30 min               Total time:   4.5-10.5 hrs

Yields a little over 3 cups of ice cream.

Ingredients

2 c raw cashews, soaked for at least 4 hours
1 c water
½ c liquid sweetener (honey, agave, maple syrup), to taste
¼ tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ginger
¼ tsp cardamom
¼ tsp ground cloves
¼ tsp allspice

Preparation

  1. Place the cashews in a bowl of water and let soak for at least 4 hours, or overnight. Rinse and drain.
  2. In a blender, combine all ingredients and blend on high until smooth. Taste and add more sweetener if necessary.
  3. Here you have some options for how to proceed according to your kitchen toys, time, and/or texture preference. If you have an ice cream maker, proceed according to the manufacturer’s instructions. If not, delicious ice cream is still to come! For a soft-serve consistency that takes much less time and is more hands-on, I recommend the baggy technique described here. For a firmer consistency, place the mixture in a container and freeze for 6 hours.
4 comments on “Chai Spice Cashew Ice Cream

  1. chicorganicamama.com
    August 31, 2013

    Thanks for the pingback! Hope you enjoyed your ice cream! 🙂

  2. Lissa
    August 31, 2013

    Chai is the best 🙂 How long does the ice cream keep for? Will it freeze okay for a few days?

    • Fermat's Last Recipe
      September 1, 2013

      Chai is my coffee on the cold mornings. 🙂 The ice cream will certainly keep in the freezer for up to a month!

  3. genevieveyam
    September 14, 2013

    It was so great meeting you at the picnic yesterday! Can’t wait to make this, it sounds delicious. Good luck with the recovery process, and know that you have a green foodie friend to support you on the journey! xx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2013 by in Dessert, Summer, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Behind the Blog

Allow me to introduce myself! I'm Sophie De Arment. Fermat's Last Recipe is where I share my vegetarian kitchen adventures. You might also glimpse some knitting, kayaking, juggling, and math-ing along the way.
Follow Fermat's Last Recipe on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

