Fermat's Last Recipe

theorems and corollaries contrived in the kitchen

Cinnamon Apple Barley

Autumn is peeking its nose around the corner. Most days here in Seattle are still sunny and bursting with heated enthusiasm, but since July made its exit there have been a few isolated days holding to the city’s grayer reputation. Underneath overcast skies I have been misted and sprinkled on, although so far this has happened only as many times as I can count on one hand. Nevertheless— there’s no getting around that my Chaco tan shan’t be getting much darker this year! The end of summer heralds one giant cry for me beyond the urges to grab as much of the delicious summer fruits and veggies and to go jump in the lake at least once more, though. SCOTLAND IS CALLING ME!!! The counter for my departure across the seas is at 19 days.  I can hardly contain my excitement. I have worked so hard for this indulgence of self-seeking adventure. Not even Ed is going to be able to ruin it. Embrace me, Scotland, with your savory unknown and endless elements that I cannot even hope to control.

19 days to go though. In the meantime, there is much culinary exploration to enjoy. This apple barley dish does not feature a succulent summer fruit, no, but not much can match it in providing a solid start to the morning with a nourishment that can be felt in every bite. Thank you, whole grains. It was inspired by a side dish that I had this summer in treatment for my eating disorder. I made a large batch that lasted several days in the refrigerator for easy serving each morning.

Cinnamon Apple Barley

Active time: 15 min.     Total time:  35 min.

Yields about six ½-cup servings.

Ingredients

1 cup hulless or scotch barley
2 cups water
1 apple (I used Pink Lady or Fuji)
1 tsp butter
1 tbsp agave or honey
¾ tsp cinnamon
Nuts of choice for garnish (optional)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375°. Rinse barley, then combine with water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to simmer 25-30 minutes or until water is absorbed. Meanwhile, arrange the apple slices on a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with cinnamon and bake for 20-25 minutes. When barley has finished cooking, remove from heat and add coconut oil, cinnamon, and agave. mix well. Fold in the baked apples. Best served chilled, although warm is delicious as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2013 by in Breakfast, Side Dish, Vegan and tagged , , , , , .

Behind the Blog

Allow me to introduce myself! I'm Sophie De Arment. Fermat's Last Recipe is where I share my vegetarian kitchen adventures. You might also glimpse some knitting, kayaking, juggling, and math-ing along the way.
Follow Fermat's Last Recipe on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

