Fermat's Last Recipe

theorems and corollaries contrived in the kitchen

Apple Rhubarb Compote

I know I said I would post a recipe for juniper berry cashew ice cream, but unfortunately that escapade did not go so well with the modest kitchen tools I own in this little Scottish flat. Don’t get me wrong— the flavor (a marriage of blackberries and juniper berries) was fantastic! However, I didn’t realize that a proper grinder for the juniper berries would be essential. Eating the ice cream, I had to stop every bite to spit out some inconvenient hard seeds. Hm. I am pleased to report that my bladder was much satisfied with the juniper though (see my last post for a silly explanation)!

Braan

Much has happened since I last rolled out a post. I apologize for not being on top of it like I had hoped. One blast of a weekend was spent beneath a shield of two wetsuits, fleece top, wool socks, a wool hat, and a PFD kayaking the beautiful River Braan in the Highlands. Water levels were at a fiver-year high, which was not difficult to believe as I traveled under a constant stream of rain all day. Boy, I thought I was the bees’ knees by the time we were almost to the take-out, having not even needed to roll once… even through the roiling class IV that I nearly wet myself looking at from the top! As I am sure you know, however, these situations present themselves only to bring nice healthy perspective to one’s ego. A mile or two from the take-out, a hole caught me off-guard and dumped me right over. Scraping my helmeted head and not-so-helmeted face across the river floor, I failed miserably to roll back up. So that was a rather nippy swim.

DSCN1426 DSCN1427

Well, it is well into Fall, which means…

Apples and rhubarb season!

… which means I have a colorful autumnal compote recipe to share that is killer on toast or porridge. I personally love the tartness of rhubarb, so I am not all that shy with the apple-to-rhubarb ratio in this recipe. Feel free to adjust that ratio to your own taste, or add sweetener like honey to take the edge of the rhubarb tartness without sacrificing its flavor.

Apple Rhubarb Compote

Prep time:   2 min.             Total time:   25 min.

Ingredients

     2 small/medium apples (I used Gala)
     4 medium stalks rhubarb
     Extra sweetener, if desired

Directions

Roughly dice the apples and rhubarb, and place in a small saucepan. Add a few tablespoons water and bring to a simmer, covered, over medium heat. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for about 20 minutes, mashing and stirring every 5 minutes. Taste and add extra sweetener if desired. When the apple and rhubarb are very soft, remove from the heat. If you would like a very smooth compote, pulse a few times in a blender or food processor. Transfer to a jar and refrigerate several hours until chilled.

Keeps for about a week once opened.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2013 by in Breakfast, Snack, Vegan, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Behind the Blog

Allow me to introduce myself! I'm Sophie De Arment. Fermat's Last Recipe is where I share my vegetarian kitchen adventures. You might also glimpse some knitting, kayaking, juggling, and math-ing along the way.
Follow Fermat's Last Recipe on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

